A wee bit of government intrusion today

The U.S. Forest Service like the DNR are jokes. Don’t get me wrong. I do believe we need to stop illegal hunting, we need more land for the animals since people think they own the whole planet, and we need some services they do offer. BUT…..

The government seems to be under the belief they own everything. And I mean, EVERYTHING! They tax us to death in property taxes and when you can’t pay, they take your land. If a corporation wants your land to put a tower on for anything, the government takes it. If the city wants a new highway, the government takes it. Do you see where I am going here? We the citizens really don’t own a damn thing thanks to our useless government.

All this leads me to this article recently published.  Good-bye to cabin life: U.S. government tells owners in U.P. to leave! That is right the good ole U.S. Forest Service is again taking away land from people and telling everyone they can’t use it. Well, if it is public land then we should be able to use it however we see fit. This is like the time when Obama closed our parks including Pictured Rocks. Do you remember the government shutdown in 2013? Our Governor, Rick Snyder, decided it was ok to follow what the feds said and closed the parks. Wrong thing to tell a Yooper! Taxpayers Revolt Against Park Closures 

The other social nasty I really want to get rid of in our government is the inflation/deficit we face. Inflation keeps rising. When I entered the workforce many, many moons ago, I made $3.35 an hour. This was good. Milk was only 50 cents a gallon. Bread was about the same price. Gas went between 75 cents to around a dollar. In the 70s we had a gas shortage which made us top around $1.75 or so depending upon where you lived. But groceries were cheaper. A can of Spaghettios was 75 cents a can. Back when we could make a homemade pizza for under a buck. Today it is under $5. I really hate that our economy has gotten like this. By all rights minimum wage should be around $18 an hour just to keep up with rising milk costs. Since that is 6 times what I made back in the 80s, our factory workers and professionals should be charging 6 times as much for their wages as well. Most attorneys charge $200 an hour today which is cheap with the realization of inflation vs wages. By all accounts an attorney should charge $1200 an hour.

This little rant is brought to you today by this article I discovered on my browser home page. Escaping poverty requires almost 20 years with nearly nothing going wrong

The biggest problem we face is money. I always loved Star Trek because they didn’t use money. Everyone had their spot on the planet and no one ever mentioned money. Except of course the Ferengi with gold press latinum.

ferengi-ethics
Found this online. Not sure who made it but I love it.  It is on 45 or more sites.

That is all I got for today. Back to writing and crocheting. I have been working a ton of hours lately. Maybe if I get time, I will post some pics of what I have been making.

 

Leave a Reply

