A little Nothing about Sunday!

 

Good MORNING to you all! Sorry I haven’t been getting those words onto the blog in a while. I know you are all waiting for the next Miss Nose story and I have been busy with other activities. Being involved means I can’t express myself or learn new and exciting words adding to my vocabulary.  But I did learn a new one recently!

I love to write or crochet in my down time. It all depends upon my hands and if they are hurting after working on everyone. Massage is not an easy career path. If you don’t take care of yourself, kiss your career good bye. Carpal tunnel is the major reason most end their massage career as is back issues and tenosynovitis. This is because massage schools only give you 500 hours of training and don’t teach proper body mechanics. They don’t teach students the proper exercises to strengthen their body nor do they teach students to use heat and ice after their day. I am very lucky. I went through a program that took 2 years of my life but I learned massage therapy the correct way. They taught us proper body mechanics, how to treat injuries, and how to limit ourselves so we could have a very long career. I am forever grateful to them and the City of Colorado Springs for demanding such a course. I digress. Time to the real reason I am typing this blog post.  I learned something new recently.

As you all know, my friend Alice’s cat Smokey needed surgery for cancer. She still needs funds to help pay for the vet costs, Smokey’s meds, and other items like changing the bandages. He is learning to walk on 3 legs. He is sore. Poor kitty is fighting for his life. I have been crocheting in my off hours to try and raise money to send to Alice for Smokey. In the U.P., it appears everyone crochets or knits and no one wants to buy what you have created. Washcloths, blankets, hats, mittens, slippers, and scarfs. I created a ton of each and no one wanted them. I ended up giving them away to relatives. But this just made me more determined to look into something that no one is creating here and I realized what it was, it isn’t baby items either, it is amigurumi! That is right. My new word now placed in my vocabulary is amigurumi!

What is amigurumi? I actually stumbled upon it when I was looking for slipper patterns. The slippers I make are in an amigurumi style.

img_20170112_194603

img_20170112_194552

Amigurumi’s definition is the Japanese art of knitting or crocheting small, stuffed animals, creatures, or dolls! It got this reference from several dictionaries and books I read in the library. One book I read, and I forgot the name of it, said they are dolls with oversized heads. After reading the books, I headed to the internet and saw several pieces of others work. Amazing. My first chicken didn’t come out right. I am still trying to figure it out. But by looking at them, I realized they were balls. I have accidentally made balls when trying to make hats! Then there is the idea of trying to clone what others have done for beaks, feet, ears, eyes, and such. Not easy. I saw one person’s blog on a rabbit, her suggestion safety eyes. Safety eyes are for dolls which makes sense.

img_20170204_1356153_rewind
I tried to crochet eyes on him and they didn’t turn out right at all.

My first attempt at creating a chicken didn’t turn out like I had hoped. I think I need to get to some you tube videos and see if they can help me make the small parts. If I find one that is really good at making these small parts, I will share that person in a future blog! I didn’t have doll eyes so I tried my hand at crocheting the eyes on. My chicken is a bit funky and slightly scary. A bit deformed too. I think I used too large of a hook since he came out the size of my coffee cup.

img_20170204_1355453_rewind
The chicken ended up bigger than I thought.

Since this is the one type of item I am not seeing people create here in the U.P., I decided I may have a great chance of now getting some money to help Smokey. I have another friend as well, she runs a rescue and sure could use help in feeding those cats. I am still trapping ferals in Cornell so they can get spade and neutered. Nothing worse than having babies to worry about when you are homeless.

img_20170204_1356065_rewind
the backside of my chicken. Maybe this should have been the front.

Let me know what you think! I think I found something I really enjoy. I will bring you more amigurumi blogs as I create them!

img_20170204_1355561_rewind
Hi, I am here for morning coffee!

 

img_20170204_1356460_rewind
Will you be my friend? BOO!

 

See I told you he is scary!

Leave a Reply

