Stolen

Our story starts out like any other. We were having a great day walking along the beach in the warm summer weather. We were having such a great time laughing and running on the sand. We took breaks to swim in the slightly cold water of Lake Michigan.  We even chased down the ice cream truck for a snack. We stopped and talked to some boys in our class. We played some beach ball with them for a while. The day is such an enjoyable day. Filled with sunshine and love of life, nothing like what happens next. What happens next ruins the whole memory of that day!

As Wanda and I got out of the water we saw him. Oh how gorgeous of a man he is. What a handsome man. We were both drooling over him. Now thinking back, I should have seen it there in his eyes. I should have known how evil this man was with that smile that at the time I thought was the sweetest.  He looked like a movie star standing there on the sand looking out into the water.

We walked out of the water talking to each other.

“Joyce. Look at his blonde hair.”

“Oh I know. Look at those blue eyes.”

At that time, I shivered. I thought it was from anticipation of seeing a living god in front of me, now I wonder if it was because I really knew by looking at those eyes.

“Hello ladies.” He shot us a brilliant smile. “How are you today?”

We melted. Then he asks, “Would you like to join me for a bite to eat?”

Wanda of course jumped right in with, “Oh hell yes.”

It was like a spell was placed on us the moment we laid eyes on him. It was fate. It was something you just couldn’t change even if you wanted to. It was meant to be and meant to happen.  I couldn’t stop it. It is like a dream where you keep on falling but you never reach the bottom.  He stayed with us on the beach for about an hour or so until we all decided to leave out of hunger. The endless talking we did but then as I recall, he didn’t talk much. Wanda and I did the talking as I think back about it. We went for dinner at a local spot Wanda and I loved.  I had a split second thought when I went to the bathroom about running out of there, but I couldn’t leave Wanda. I just chalked it up to nerves. I mean, how often are you going to get a chance to eat dinner with some fabulous looking man? I kicked that nagging thought to the side and walked back out to the table.

After we had dinner, we went riding in his car. That is when the horror began. He stopped at a store. We thought just to purchase something, but it turns out he decided to rob the place. He took several items. He gave me a brilliant ruby and diamond ring and Wanda got an emerald and diamond ring. We were ecstatic.  We were giggling like school girls thinking how lucky we were to have this guy buy us such expensive rings. I loved the way my ring looked in the street lights as we were driving down the road.  I even kissed it. It was the first item I ever got from someone who wasn’t a relative. My thought was that he must really like me or love me even.  I started to daydream even about a wedding between the two of us.

Little did we know the shop owner lost his life and the rings we are wearing is blood money.  We had no idea he even robbed the place nor that our lives were next on the line. But something kept nudging me. Something down deep inside knew. I had thought for a moment to leave the car while he was in the shop. I thought about asking Wanda if she just wanted to walk away but I could tell she didn’t. She was enjoying herself and smiling like I have never seen her smile in all our years together.

He took us out to his cabin. What an amazingly beautiful cabin it is. The moment I stepped out of the car it felt like home. It was so peaceful. I looked up at the night sky seeing all the stars blinking down at me. The fireplace was the best feature but now even that seems like a faint nightmare one is trying to make into a dream. He gave Wanda and I a drink. Little did either of us know he laced it with something. It made me sick. I couldn’t keep my head up. I was so dizzy and my head was spinning all around. I heard Wanda scream but it seems so faint and distant now. It was like I was in a dream state dancing in a circle. I should have never left with that man, ever.

I passed out without knowing what he did to Wanda.  When I finally woke up, I was in the cellar of his cabin. Not a great place to be when spiders are you worst enemy. It was filled with webs and all these eyes looking back at me. I thought I could even see them drool in their excitement for fresh food. I screamed til I was hoarse, but no one came to rescue me. I thought I was going to be spider food since they were closing in on me building their webs right around my body until a hand reached down and pulled me by my hair up to the surface. I started screaming. He took out a knife and cut out my tongue. That is when my nightmare really began. He took me to his bedroom, tied me to the bed, cut off my clothes, and then started his torture on me. He first used a belt to make open wounds. I thought he was done when he left the bedroom but he came back with something in a glass jar. It was lemon juice and salt. I screamed as much as I could but it is harder when you don’t have a tongue. The more I screamed the more he smiled. He just loves watching me in pain. I finally passed out. When I woke up again, I saw him sitting in a chair smoking a cigarette.

“Finally,” he said to me, “thought you were never going to wake back up.”

This time he had a whip. That really stung.  The blood came rolling off my thigh.  He severed my left breast right in two with that whip. I screamed as much as I could. The pain. The lashes. What was I going to do? Then I passed out.

I have no clue how I managed to get here. I am still waiting for someone to tell me where Wanda is, but no one seems to listen. Maybe it is because I don’t have a tongue? Maybe they can’t make out what I am saying. I wish I could find Wanda. I need my best friend right now. I need her to tell me everything is going to be okay.

I walked up to several of the police people but they just act like I don’t exist.  I just wish someone would look at me and hear my story. I wish they would tell me what happened to Wanda. I haven’t seen her since we were both drinking that seemingly innocent drink.  I wish I could see her and know everything is going to be alright. She is my rock. She is my best friend. She is all I have in this world.

“WHERE IS WANDA!?”

A small pause then I screamed one more time with everything I have.

“WHERE THE HELL IS WANDA!?”

No answer. No one even turns around to look at me. What the hell is going on here? Why won’t these people acknowledge me? Why won’t one of them answer the most simplest question? Where is Wanda? Why isn’t she here next to me? I just don’t understand these fools. What the hell is wrong with them that they won’t answer me?

Standing here all you see is red and blue lights creating a purple hue. People are talking to one another. They are writing down stuff. They are drawing pictures and taking pictures with cameras.  They have quite an area around the house taped off with yellow plastic tape. The place seems so chaotic where at one time it seemed so peaceful.  I just want to find Wanda. I just need to find her. I know she is here somewhere. I just don’t know why they won’t tell me where she is at when I ask them. I just stand here watching them take out body bag after body bag and they just keep ignoring me.

One Reply to “Stolen”

Leave a Reply

